AQAF executives named 2016 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award examiners

The Commerce Department’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has named AQAF CEO Wesley Smith, MD, and Liz Prosch, Vice President of Quality, to the board of examiners for the 2016 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The Baldrige Award is the nation’s highest honor for organizational innovation and performance excellence.

Examiners are responsible for reviewing and evaluating applications submitted for the Baldrige Award, as well as other assessment-related tasks. The examiner board is composed of more than 350 leading experts competitively selected from industry, professional, trade, education, health care and nonprofit (including government) organizations from across the United States.

Those selected meet the highest standards of qualification and peer recognition, demonstrating competencies related to customer focus, communication, ethics, action orientation, team building and analytical skills. All Baldrige examiners must annually take part in a nationally ranked leadership development course based on the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence and the scoring/evaluation processes for the Baldrige Award.

Established by Congress in 1987, the Baldrige Award is named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce. Awards may be given annually to organizations in each of six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education, health care, and nonprofit.
AQAF is an Alabama-based, private, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving health and health care. For more than 40 years. AQAF works with health care providers, health systems, and health plans to ensure that patients receive safe, cost-effective and evidence-based care that meets the highest professional standards.